Cauliflower Fried “Rice”

Ok – if you are anything like me, you’ve been mildly (read: VERY) skeptical about the sudden influx of cauliflower recipes invading Pinterest and the general food blogosphere lately. I’m not a huge cauliflower fan to begin with, and therefore couldn’t wrap my head around how it could be a passable sub for my favorite grains. However, I’ve been gradually dabbling in the cauliflower arena lately, and I have to say that it’s more promising than I originally thought. For those of you that are still leery, take it slow! I began by cutting my recipes in half (ie half brown rice/half cauliflower, or half quinoa/half cauliflower). This recipe is great halved, but I’ve converted to full cauliflower – and I’m not looking back.

Cauliflower Fried “Rice” – adapted from The Recipe Critic

1 head cauliflower, riced (instructions to follow)

4-5 cups of fresh, mixed vegetables, chopped (this time around, I used a mix of shredded cabbage, carrots, and mushrooms, but I’ve thrown a combination of just about anything in – broccoli florets, bok choy, kale peas/snap peas, corn, red pepper, etc.)

1/4 cup scallions, diced

2 eggs, beaten

3 Tbsp. sesame oil

3-4 Tbsp. Bragg’s liquid aminos, to taste

Cilantro, for garnish (optional)

1. To rice cauliflower: chop head of cauliflower into florets. Add to food processor in batches and pulse until it begins to resemble rice.

2. Heat sesame oil in large pan or wok on medium heat. Add your mixed vegetables and cook until tender, but al dente (will vary depending on veggies used, but typically 5-8 minutes). Add scallions for the final two minutes.

3. Add beaten eggs to the pan and mix until incorporated and egg scrambles and cooks completely.

4. Add cauliflower and Bragg’s liquid aminos and stir until incorporated. Cook an additional 5-6 minutes until heated through.

5. Place in bowls and garnish with cilantro, if desired. Enjoy!

Cauliflower Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

