Pi Day – Chilled Chocolate Pie

Recently, I’ve started to work with an amazing nutritionist, who is helping me figure out why (even after going gluten-free) I’ve been feeling a bit “off”. For a few weeks, I was on a super strict elimination diet, and I’ve slowly been re-incorporating foods, trying to figure out my triggers, etc. Fortunately, in the midst of it all I was able to make and enjoy this Chilled Chocolate Pie, just in time for Pi day!

Chilled Chocolate Pie (adapted from Oh She Glows)

For the crust:

3/4 cup blanched almond flour

1/4 cup coconut oil, melted

3 Tbsp. pure maple syrup

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

1 1/2 cups gluten-free rolled oats

For the filling:

1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used Enjoy Life dairy free brand)

1 (15 ounce) can of full-fat coconut cream (I bought mine at Trader Joe’s) *note, you can substitute full-fat coconut milk here, chilled overnight

Liquid sweetener, to taste (I used 1 Tbsp. pure maple syrup)

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Pinch of salt

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease a pie pan with coconut oil. Add crust ingredients to a food processor and pulse until dough forms. Press into pie dish and bake 10-15 minutes, until lightly golden. Remove from oven and set aside to cool for 20 minutes.

2. Meanwhile, scoop out white coconut cream into a medium-sized pot on low/medium heat, discarding any coconut water at the bottom. Add chocolate chips and stir to combine, until chocolate chips are fully melted and incorporated. Add sweetener of choice, vanilla, and salt.

3. Once crust is cooled, pour the chocolate mixture into the crust and freeze on a flat surface for two hours. Thaw 10-15 minutes before serving. The first piece will be tricky, but the others will be easier to remove! The crust is a cross between a shortbread and graham cracker taste/texture, and the filling is a dense pudding/fudge type texture. I served mine with fresh organic strawberry slices. Store any leftovers in the fridge.

Update: I just made this again for Easter, and it received rave reviews from my aunt, grandmother, and even my mom (which, to put in perspective given their cooking/baking skills is the equivalent of landing a triple salchow in ice skating…blindfolded). Boom!

IMG_0764

Leave a Reply

