Apple Crisp 2.0 – Pinterest Post #2

With Thanksgiving just around the corner, I’ve had huge cravings for apple crisp. We recently had a birthday party for G, and I wanted to cater to all of the dietary restrictions my guests and I have in one fell swoop. Enter Apple Crisp 2.0. So much better than the previous versions I’ve posted. Gluten-free. Dairy-free. Heavenly.

Apple Crisp 2.0 (adapted slightly from the version seen here)

3/4 cup pecans, chopped

3/4 cup gluten-free flour (I used Better Batter)

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. salt

3-4 Tbsp. pure maple syrup

2-3 Tbsp. coconut oil, solid or softened, but preferably not melted

5 cups apples, peeled and sliced into wedges (I used gala apples)

1 tsp. lemon juice

1 Tbsp. cornstarch

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 Tbsp brown sugar

1. Preheat your oven to 350ºF and spray an 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray. Set aside.

2. Chop or smash pecans. It’s ok for the pieces to be all different sizes, I like the different textures!

Dry ingredients mixed

3. Place the pecans, flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl, and stir with a fork to combine.

4. Add the coconut oil and maple syrup and stir with a fork to create the dough for the crisp, making sure to mash in any large chunks of coconut oil. I found that I needed to get in there and combine it with my hands to really make it work. I also added some additional coconut oil because the mixture was a bit dry.

With coconut oil and syrup added

4. Place the apples in your prepared baking pan and drizzle with the lemon juice, and add remaining ingredients (cornstarch, cinnamon, and brown sugar) until combined.

5. Sprinkle topping on apples and evenly coat.

6. Bake for 30 minutes, or until the topping begins to brown.

7. Serve immediately with vanilla ice cream if desired (for your non-vegan friends) 🙂

Finished product!

4 responses

Leave a Reply

