Chewy Granola Bars

Convenience has become key for me after going gluten-free. I don’t have time for everything I eat to be a process; grab and go is the name of my game. Unfortunately, many granola bars on the market are not gluten-free, and in addition, the ingredients lists are full of things I can’t pronounce.

Therefore, a homemade version with some protein was a must. Easily adaptable for the ingredients I have on hand, and tasty no matter what!

Homemade Chewy Granola Bars (adapted from cookbakenibble.com)

1/2 cup honey

1/3 cup nut butter (I used natural peanut butter)

3 Tbsp. brown sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

pinch salt

1 1/2 cups gluten-free oats

1 1/2 cups brown rice crisps (I didn’t have any on hand, so I used gluten-free Chex cereal, broken into small pieces)

1 2/3 cups “add-ins” (I used dark chocolate chips, dried cranberries, dried coconut, and sunflower seeds)

1. Spray a baking pan lightly with cooking spray, set aside. In a small pot over low heat, melt the honey, nut butter, and brown sugar. Set aside to cool slightly.

2. Mix the remaining ingredients in a large bowl, add the honey mixture to the bowl and mix well.

3. Press the mixture into the greased pan using a slightly wet spatula.

ready to go for a week’s worth of breakfast!

4. Cover and cool in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

Grab and go for an easy breakfast!

Yum!

One response

Leave a Reply

