Brazilian Cheese Rolls (pao de queijo)

I got a gluten-free cookbook for Christmas. I have a lot of cookbooks that sit in the cabinet above my stove, collecting dust. I never think to use them, as the majority of the time I just throw things in a pot and see how it turns out. But one of my non-resolution resolutions this year is to dust off the books and see what kind of magic happens.

And this time, magic happened. 

This is not the healthiest recipe, so please enjoy in moderation. I followed the recipe exactly, since I had never worked with tapioca flour and I didn’t want to ruin it. In the future, however, I will be trying it with lower fat milk, maybe some Brummel and Brown, and lower fat Parmesan. I’ll post adaptations to the recipe if it works out! I’m also going to try to freeze them, as the recipe made about 12 rolls.

Brazilian Cheese Rolls (from The Gluten-Free Bible)

1 cup whole milk

1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter, cut into pieces

1/4 cup vegetable oil (I used safflower)

2 cups tapioca flour

2 eggs

1 cup grated Parmesan, or other firm cheese

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Combine milk, butter, and oil in a large pot. Bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring to melt butter. Once mixture reaches a boil, remove from heat.

3. Stir in tapioca flour. Mixture will be thick and stretchy, almost gummy. (Sorry, I didn’t take any pictures of the process!)

4.Stir in eggs, one at a time, and cheese. At this point, I didn’t think the end result was going to work out. Keep stirring. It’ll come together eventually.

5. Cool mixture in pot until easy to handle.

6. Grab dough and form 1 1/2 inch balls, place on cooking sheet with cooking spray.

7. Bake 20-25 minutes or until puffed and golden. Serve warm.

The result is a puffy roll, with a crunchy buttery outside and a cheesy, almost gooey inside. To me they almost mimic Red Lobster garlic cheese rolls. I need to plan a trip to Brazil.

crunchy, buttery, cheesy 

goodness

bird's eye view

Leave a Reply

