Homemade Guacamole

While I lived in California, I never lacked two things: good white wine and amazing avocados. My first roomie got me hooked on wine (in a sophisticated sort of way, I swear), and using our surplus of avocados to make fresh guacamole. Her recipe was clean and basic, and the proportions were determined by eye. To this day, it’s the best I’ve had. I’ve attempted to quantify the ingredients here, but feel free to take liberties and create your best-tasting guacamole!

Fresh Guacamole (this recipe is easily doubled, tripled, etc.)

1 ripe Haas avocado

1/2 cup ripe tomato, diced (I tend to use grape or cherry tomatoes for a sweeter taste)

1/4 cup onion, diced (I favor red onion when I have it on hand)

2-3 Tbsp. fresh cilantro, rinsed and roughly chopped

Juice from at least one lime (I go heavy on the lime)

Coarse ground sea salt, to taste

1. Remove skin and pit from avocado, mash in a bowl with a fork (keep it lumpy)!!!

2. Add remaining ingredients, stir to combine.

3. Taste test throughout to achieve your best-tasting guacamole.

4. Serve with tortilla chips, such as Reduced Guilt tortilla chips from Trader Joe’s, or cut veggies (cucumber, red pepper, and the like).

Ok, so I may not take award-winning pictures, and I didn't have cilantro on hand this time around, but trust me, it was still awesome.

Leave a Reply

