Chicago-Style Deep Dish Pizza

So, back to my love affair with pizza. During a trip to Chicago senior year of college (with some rowdy Sicard boys and one lovely lady), and another during my cross-country road trip (with two lovely ladies), I ate true, authentic deep dish here. Their stuffed pizza is really just ridiculous. I pondered the idea of having it shipped to me. Then I decided to just be sure to make my way back to Chicago at some point to enjoy the full experience. Then, I couldn’t eat pizza anymore. Now, I decided to make a g-free version.

I’ve been following Gluten Free on a Shoestring for a while, wanting to try so many of her recipes. I just never got around to purchasing Better Batter, the flour she now uses in the majority of her recipes. Over Christmas, I finally ordered a 25 lb. bag from their website (go big or go home, plus they were out of 5 lb. bags at the time). Then, I tackled her Deep Dish pizza recipe, with a few minor tweaks.

My review: I really enjoyed this pizza. The crust came out perfectly browned, buttery, and crispy, just like I was looking for. Heated it up for breakfast the next day and it was still yummy. The only downside would be that in certain thick parts, the dough was pretty heavy and a bit doughy. The underside was not as crisp or browned either. I think that this can be remedied in the future by ensuring that your crust is pressed in the pan evenly and relatively thinly.

My experience making this dough varied a bit from Nicole Hunn’s version, and I will indicate the differences here. Enjoy, and be ready for leftovers!

Gluten-free Chicago-Style Deep Dish Pizza (adapted from Gluten-Free on a Shoestring, which was adapted from Pizzeria Uno)

2 cups all-purpose gluten-free flour (I used Better Batter)

1 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum (do not use if using Better Batter)

1/4 cup cornmeal (her recipe indicated yellow, I used white)

1 Tbsp. active dry yeast (I used rapid rise yeast)

1 Tbsp. sugar

2 teaspoons kosher salt (I used sea salt)

4 Tbsp. canola oil (I used safflower oil)

3/4 cup warm water, around 100 degrees F (I ended up needing about 1 1/4 cups, as my dough appeared way too dry)

1-2 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil for drizzling

 

1. In a food processor (or bowl), add flour, xanthan gum, cornmeal, yeast, sugar, and salt.  Stir or pulse to combine.

2. Slowly add in the 4 Tbsp. oil and water, stirring or pulsing to combine. If the dough seems too sticky, slowly add in more flour. If it seems too dry (as in my case), slowly add in more warm water until it forms a dough-like consistency.

3. Press the dough into a disk and transfer to a bowl. Drizzle the dough with olive oil and coat the outside of the dough, so that a crust does not form when rising. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and place in a warm, draft-free area until it reaches 1 1/2 times its original volume, about one hour (the dough never rose for me, I left it in the bowl for about 2 1/2 hours. It still turned out just fine).

A little dry and unrisen, but just fine

4. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least one hour.

side note - I just love minimal clean up!

5. When ready to use the dough, preheat your oven to 425 degrees F. Grease a deep dish pizza pan, round baking pan, or spring form pan (which is what I used) liberally with oil (I used safflower again).

6. Press the dough evenly into the bottom of the pan and up the sides of the pan, leaving a clean edge around the top. My dough appeared a bit dry, but I was still able to press it into the pan with minimal issues.

ready to be filled with fresh ingredients!

7. Slather the bottom and sides of the pan with a small amount of melted butter. It’s magical.

8. Top your pizza with your preferred toppings. This time around, I opted for fresh mozzarella, homemade chunky tomato sauce, sautéed onions, mushrooms, and spinach, and fresh grated Parmesan cheese on top (garnished with fresh basil after baking).

oh yeah.

9. Tent the pan with aluminum foil and bake for 20 minutes, then remove foil and bake for an additional 10 minutes, until cheese is bubbly and the crust is nicely browned.

browned, bubbly goodness...

10. Let rest in the pan for a few minutes, then slice and serve!

so easy to slice and serve without pesky sides of the pan getting in the way!

Leave a Reply

