Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

Here is my first attempt at gluten-free cookies. I never crave cookies, or many sweets for that matter. But when Christmas time comes, and everyone is baking and eating, I start to feel out of the loop without them. Problem is, if you make a batch of g-free cookies, chances are, you’re eating a whole batch of g-free cookies. Most people shy away.

The cookies I made this evening are naturally gluten-free, however, with no weird flours…so maybe there is hope that people might share. And I won’t have to eat an entire batch of peanut butter cookies by myself. Cause that’s a lot of gym time that I don’t feel like logging.

I originally got this recipe from Real Simple magazine, but after making it, I’d suggest a couple of small tweaks. And let’s just say, these don’t really fall under my normal “healthy” category. Tis’ the season, after all 🙂

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies (adapted from Real Simple magazine)

2 cups creamy peanut butter

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

2 large eggs

2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2. In a large bowl, mix all ingredients until smooth.

dough with too many add-ins

3. Shape the dough into balls, and place on ungreased cookie sheets. Using the tines of a fork, flatten each ball, creating a criss-cross pattern.

ready to bake!

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes until golden brown. Let cool for a few minutes on the baking sheet to avoid crumbling as much as possible. Then, transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

the big finish

Variations:

Cranberry/Oat/Chocolate Chip cookies – Make dough according to the recipe, and add in 1/2 cup each of dried cranberries, oats (gluten-free), and chocolate chips. The original recipe said to add 2 1/2 cups total of “add-ins” but I felt it was too much and made the dough too dry.

I also think that this recipe would work well with some coconut flakes. Experiment with your own “add-ins” and let me know how it goes!!

Leave a Reply

