Eggplant, Squash, Tomato, and Cheese Bake

Now that life is settling back down again, I thought I’d share a recipe that was given to me at my bridal shower. This one is from my mom’s aunt, and it’s delicious! It’s an eggplant parm-esque dish, and if you use fresh tomatoes and squash in the summertime, it’s heavenly. (Yes, I know it’s November, but I made this recipe not too long ago with the remaining tomatoes from our garden).

Enjoy!

Eggplant, Squash, Tomato, and Cheese Bake

1 lb. eggplant, peeled and sliced into disks

2 medium yellow squash, sliced into disks

2-3 sliced medium tomatoes

1 cup shredded cheese, your choice (I normally use reduced fat Mexican blend from Trader Joes, but this time I was out)

Gluten free bread crumbs for topping (I use Aleia’s, the best I’ve found to date)

Olive oil, garlic powder, salt and pepper, and grated Parmesan cheese to taste

the main playersheavenly g-free breadcrumbs

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Drizzle olive oil in the bottom of a baking dish.

2. Layer eggplant and squash, sprinkle with garlic and S/P.

layering

3. Alternate layers with tomatoes topped with Parmesan cheese and shredded cheese, making a casserole.

4. End with tomato and cheese layer. Top with bread crumbs and more Parmesan cheese.

oops, didn't end with tomatoes!

5. Bake for 50-60 minutes, until vegetables are tender and bread crumbs are crispy.

the big finish

Suitable for glutinous and non-glutinous audiences, and freezes well too!

 

