Quick and Easy Gluten-Free Pizza

Love is not a strong enough word to describe how I feel about pizza. When I went to Italy a few years ago with one of my best friends, we ate 3 or 4 pizzas in Florence in the span of two days. We even stood outside of the pizza place in a downpour, all of our luggage in hand, waiting for it to open, so we could get a pizza to go for the train ride back to Rome. And we ate it even though the soggy box was smushed into the cheese a little bit. It’s that serious.

I’ve been on the hunt for a gluten-free pizza recipe since day one, and I have yet to find something that truly lives up to Italy’s finest (or in my every day life’s case, Jersey’s finest). However, I am going to share a pizza-for-lunch recipe that I think is pretty freakin amazing. It’s not the same, but it does satisfy the craving. And so easy!!

Quick and Easy Gluten-Free Pizza:

1 Trader Joe’s brown rice tortilla (or another kind of g-free tortilla, but I find this has worked the best/is cheapest)

toppings of your choosing: I normally opt for the traditional marinara/mozzarella combo, and sometimes add embellishments, such as grilled veggies leftover in the fridge.

The main players

1. Cover brown rice tortilla with desired toppings (I freeze my tortillas to help with shelf life, and I don’t even bother defrosting it beforehand…just slap on the toppings!)

2. Bake at 350 degrees (preferably in a toaster oven, who wants to heat up the big oven for something so simple?) directly on the rack until cheese melts and tortilla begins to brown, about 5-7 minutes.

3. Revel in all its tasty glory.

The big finish...with onions 🙂

2 responses

  1. Pingback: The Wonders of Bruschetta | gfreeveggie

  2. Pingback: G-free at Trader Joe’s | gfreeveggie

Leave a Reply

