G-Free Apple Crisp: The Healthy and Not-As-Healthy Versions

It’s fall, and apples are in abundance. I’d love to go apple picking, but I’ve  been a little too busy with this… In any event, I found myself with some red delicious apples (which are not my first choice to eat in pure form), so I decided to make some apple crisp (wedding diet, be damned)!

My mom made some gluten-free/diabetes friendly apple crisp the last time I was up north for a few days, and it was delicious. I’ll be honest and say that my attempt was not as amazing as hers, but I am coming to the realization that when it comes to baking, she’s untouchable. It might also have to do with the fact that I halved the amount of butter in the recipe in a feeble attempt to make it “healthier”, and the crisp was more of a crumble. I’ll be posting her recipe first, from the Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book, and then a different, somewhat healthier version I’ve tried in the past that is pretty tasty. Two roads diverged in a wood…

Mom’s Apple Crisp (adapted from Better Homes and Gardens)

5 cups/4 medium apples (or pears/peaches), peeled and sliced

2 Tbsp. sugar/Splenda

1/2 cup rolled oats (use gluten-free certified oats if sensitive)

1/2 cup packed brown sugar/Splenda brown sugar

1/4 cup all-purpose gluten-free flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill and a dash of xanthan gum)

1/4 tsp. nutmeg or cinnamon

1/4 cup butter (I reduced this to two tbsp.)

1/4 cup coconut

The main players

1. Place apples or other fruit in the bottom of a round baking dish, stir in sugar to coat.

sugary apples, mmm

2. Mix all other ingredients in a mixing bowl, cutting in butter till the mixture resembles coarse crumbles.

the crisp!

3. Sprinkle over filling, and bake in a 375 degree oven for 30-35 minutes.

the big finish

Healthier Apple Crisp (and by healthy I mean no butter, and slightly less sugar and flour)

Filling:

3 apples, peeled and sliced

1 tsp. cinnamon

2 Tbsp. sugar or Splenda

2 Tbsp. gluten-free all-purpose flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill and a dash of xanthan gum)

Topping:

1 cup rolled oats (use gluten-free if necessary)

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 cup brown sugar or Splenda brown sugar

1/8 cup Splenda

2 Tbsp. water

1. Combine filling ingredients in round baking dish.

2. Combine topping ingredients and sprinkle over filling.

3. Bake at 325 degrees for 30 minutes.

Either way, enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

