Yellow Squash Pasta

Most people would probably start a new blog with a fancy, awe-inspiring first official post. I am not one of those people. I’m getting the ball rolling with a tried and true favorite. One that I began making when I lived in California for a super quick, low stress meal after a long hard day of teaching.

This summer, we grew our first official garden, and we were blessed with about 6 or so HUGE yellow squash, among other things. This called for a lot of squash pasta goodness.

Yellow Squash Pasta

1 medium or large yellow squash, rinsed and cut into disks

1/4 white or yellow onion, diced

3 Tbsp. olive oil

Pasta of your choice (in my case, whole wheat for the boy, gluten-free quinoa pasta for myself)

Salt and pepper to taste

Parmesan cheese and fresh basil for garnish (optional)

The main players

1. Cook pasta according to package directions, using two pots if cooking g-free and regular pasta. **This is especially important for gluten-free pasta. I always cook mine according to the lowest number in the time range specified on the box, so it is cooked al denteĀ and doesn’t turn into a pile of rice mush. I also do not like leftover g-free pasta, so I only cook what I need at the time. Additionally, I use a quinoa-corn blend of pasta for dishes that won’t have a heavy sauce. I’ve found that its consistency and taste holds up to some good eatin’ in a close-to-pure form.**

2. Pour about 2 Tbsp. of olive oil in a non-stick saucepan and heat. Spread the squash disks evenly around the pan, and cook over medium heat until desired “doneness”. I prefer mine to be cooked very well done, semi-mushy and almost charred. To each his own.

3. Remove squash and cook onions until fragrant and browned. Add a bit more olive oil if needed.

4. Drain pasta (gluten-free first!), and place into two separate bowls. Toss in squash and onions, a bit more olive oil if needed, and garnish with salt/pepper, parmesan cheese, and fresh basil. Eat with a side salad for some extra veg.

5. Come back to this blog and rave about how easy and delicious this is.

The big finish

Leave a Reply

